1. Manna will be releasing her new album this coming Autumn via Soliti.
    Manna’s output is from the heart, without boundaries.
    Troublebirds is your first taste of what’s to come from the Finnish/Algerian’s new album.
    Get ready to fall in love all over again.



  2. Sister Flo were a group from southern Finland, gathered together to realise their ambitions: writing songs and playing them to other people. The group consists of Samae Koskinen, Mikko Salonen, Antti Kaistinen, Jarno Alho and Janne Lastumäki.

    “It all started for me with a home made cd handed down in 2001. A gentle recommendation that it’s ‘my kind of stuff’. I fell in love with Sister Flo that day. There was something going on that I hadn’t really heard before from my adopted new country. Yes, there was confidence and a knowing nod to reluctant heroes, but what struck me most was the sound was fully formed and it’s own thing. I started to look for the name and see if I could catch the band live…I can’t really remember where it was where I first saw Sister Flo, but people were beginning to take notice. Then came Boys Of Cat and Landcrabs so everyone could join the party. As relationships grew, a few pointers were emerging: this was a hat band (wooly mainly). There was shyness contrasted by an aggressive protectionist perspective, a way of doing things to mask the internal fragility. Something had to be nurtured and amongst the sweetness was slight paranoia. A love for Kiss tattoos and Queens Park Rangers was hidden within. A feeling of proving one’s worth to stay involved was oddly beguiling. It was often a lot of fun. They were different.

    Months flew by and a drawn out process of little bits here and there resulted a long time later in Tragician’s Hat being made. These were heady times, but the wooly hatted brigade were capable of anything. I was in awe.The out of town boys played Helsinki shows and it was alwaysinspiring / intense / motronic / fuel / injected / bursts / of / character / building / excitement / jams / and / whirlwinds. Sister Flo rocked without using the conventional tools for rocking: a sigh, a hush, a brush on a snare then an explosion of noise. This characterises Tragician’s Hat as something else, whilst still delivering that overused term and requirement: timeless music.Independent being a terrible moniker for anything musical, but if that is your want, this is your high benchmark of that righteous expression, a jewel in the mire. My memory fails me as to why Sister Flo did not become world beaters (tragedy was in the air like ether). If one band were meant to ‘happen’, surely it was these guys? Looking back, it’s inconsequential, a mere footnote. Sister Flo were not put on planet earth to lead some Finnish invasion or pathe the way. Sister Flo simply mattered and sometimes that’s enough. Tragician’s Hat is all the proof you need.”
    Nick Triani, July 2014.


  3. Black Twig’s 2nd album Heliogram pushes forward the template they forged on debut Paper Trees by entering a softer, warmer world. More abrasive shoegaze has been replaced by contemplation. Whilst some of the guitar onslaught of Dinosaur Jr or MBV still exists within Heliogram’s design, a breezy acoustic hue brings in hints of sunnier days. Summer Slow Down, the second single from Heliogram recalls the most melodic aspects of Felt, The Clientele and the gentler moments of The Feelies. Dive in and get lost with the breeze.



  4. Astrid Swan’s Astrid4 gets a UK release on 22nd April 2014.
    “I don’t care for the forest. Never been a nature creature really. I don’t go berry picking in August, I’m fine in the city. But a natural order began to outline itself in the concrete. There are black bears behind my closed eyes, wild deer hoofs in the night. “
    If one song from Astrid4 embodies many of the themes within, then it’s Black Bear & A Hoofer.
    Taken from Astrid Swan’s Astrid4 (Soliti 018)
    Release date 22nd April.2014.




  5. Trash the jukebox and revel in rebel youth. Gim Kordon bring the noise to Soliti.

    Gim Kordon announce their debut album Ei ole helppoo to be released on the 9th of May 2014 via Soliti.


  6. "Mä pöllin mun systerin my little ponin ja kyhäsin siittä bongin"
    — Gim Kordon -  Kaupunki tappaa sielunsa (via zeizei88)

  7. eartrumpet:

    Cats on Fire, with I Am The White-Mantled King.


  8. bigwaveriders:

    BIG WAVE RIDERS @ Positivus Festival

    Photos by Take a Shot https://www.facebook.com/takeashotlv/


  9. (Source: indiemusicworld)